A Day in the Life

April 1 was my 2 year anniversary of being a stay-at-home mom. Olie is now 2.5 years old!  I’ve been asked occasionally what I do all day. Heck, sometimes I wonder what I do all day!   I also occasionally feel my contributions to the family are undervalued or at least not well understood. So, this is my attempt to record a typical day – as much as there ever is one.

7am – Wake up.  Read in my daily reader. Check and send emails. Check to-do list. Check calendar.  Do a few sun salutations? Get Olie when he wakes up and give him some milk. Feed the cats. Start a load of laundry.

8am – Get dressed. Potty time. Get Olie dressed. Brush Olie’s hair. Brush my hair. Make breakfast. Hope Olie eats breakfast. Check monthly menu. Prep dinner with Olie’s help. Check house cleaning list. Clean kitchen. Playdough time. Sweep floor.  Let cats in and out, out and in. Take vitamins if I remember.  Maybe have a cup of green tea if I didn’t sleep well.  Call Grandpa, and do facetime with him so Olie can see his clocks.

930am – Finish getting Olie dressed. Change his shirt if necessary. Find his shoes and sunglasses. Go for a walk to get a few groceries. Let Olie pick out some berries. Stop every 100 feet or so on the way home to give Olie more berries. Stop at fire hydrants so that he can smack them.

1030am – Be quiet until Mark wakes up. Make Mark coffee?  Play. Put laundry in dryer or hang out to dry.  Add what we spent to list on fridge. Potty time.

11am – Think about what’s for lunch. Make lunch. Hope Olie eats lunch.  Play. Do something on my list.

1pm – Read books with Olie.

2pm – Give Olie milk. Hope he naps.

230pm – Olie naps. Have a cup of cocoa and a snack. Check and send emails, calendar and to-do list. Check facebook – waste 30 minutes “liking” things that don’t really matter. Make a phone call. Do something on my list.

4pm – Give Olie milk. Read a book on my phone. Read books to Olie. Potty time.

5pm – Make the rest of dinner. Clean kitchen. Put away dishes. Load dishwasher.  Clean off table. Tidy up house. Get mail. Go through mail. Put away toys. Set table.

6pm – Eat dinner. Hope Olie eats.  Sweep floor. Maybe let him have the ipad for 30 minutes (no more).  Fold laundry and put away? Feed cats. Feed fish. Dump out grey water.

7pm – Be in a good mood when Mark gets home. Tell him what’s for dinner. Read books with Olie.

8pm – Potty time. Brush teeth. Put on pajamas. Watch Olie on jump on bed. Take vitamins if I remember.

830pm – Lights out. Sleep.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>